London Historians

London Historians' Monthly Pub Meet

A London Historians Event

We have an informal gathering of socialising on the first Wednesday of every month. From 6:30 pm. All are welcome.

Currently we meet upstairs at the Hoop and Grapes, in Farringdon.
We have about 30 attendees most months and you can come as early or late as you like, we’re always still there at Last Orders. All welcome, not just LH members.
Meetings for all of 2017 are as follows: Wed 4 January; Wed 1 February; Wed 1 March; Wed 5 April; Wed 3 May; Wed 7 June; Wed 5 July; Wed 2 August; Wed 6 September; Wed 4 October; Wed 1 November; Wed 6 December.

monthly pub meet

Tour of Carpenters' Hall

SORRY, THIS EVENT IS NOW FULLY-BOOKED

A London Historians Event

Thu 13 July. 11:00 – 12:30h

carpenters' hall

The Carpenters’ Company started as a medieval trade guild over 700 years ago, receiving its first Royal Charter in 1477. Since 1429, there have been three Halls on the same site. The current building was opened in 1960, its predecessor having been destroyed in the Blitz. Our tour – led by the Company’s Archivist, will be of the function/ceremonial rooms covering the history of the Hall and Company. Coffee and biscuits included!

LH Members $9. Non-members/guests: £11

For more information and to book

History in the Pub: Our Favourite Londoners

A London Historians Event

Tues 25 July, 18:30 – 21:00
Sir Christopher Hatton pub, Leather Lane.
Nearest Tube: Chancery Lane.

Learn about London history over a pint after work!
We did two of these last year; they were enormously popular. Ten London Historians talk for eight minutes each on their favourite Londoner from history.

The lineup so far:
Peter Berthoud on Charles Goad
Stephen Coates on Austin Osman Spare
Simon Fowler on Will Crooks
Joanna Moncrieff on Edward Lloyd
Naomi Paxton on Edith Garrud
Mar Valera on Carlo Gatti

Our MC and strict timekeeper for the evening is Matt Brown. Doors open 18:30h for 19:00h start

London Historians members: FREE.
Guests: Just £5 + small booking fee.
Book your place.

London Historians Annual Lecture 2017

A London Historians Event

Thursday 7 September 2017, 18:30h.
Gresham College, Barnard’s Inn Hall

Speaker: Prof Elaine Chalus, University of Liverpool.

gresham college

Plesae mark this diary date and watch this space for details!

Free and Affordable Lectures

Several institutions host wonderful history lectures which are either free or cost very little.
The National Archives, a short walk from Kew Gardens Station, have free talks on most Thursday afternoons. They also have other low cost ticket events. Detail
The venerable Gresham College holds free lectures at its HQ in Barnards Inn, Holborn and also at Museum of London. Details.
Guildhall Library has free lunchtime lectures and £5 evening ones, which include a glass of wine. Details