London Historians

London Historians' Monthly Pub Meet

A London Historians Event

We have an informal gathering of socialising on the first Wednesday of every month. From 6:30 pm. All are welcome.

We meet upstairs at the Hoop and Grapes, in Farringdon.
We have about 30 attendees most months and you can come as early or late as you like, we’re always still there at Last Orders. All welcome, not just LH members.
Meetings for all of 2018 are as follows: Wed 3 January; Wed 7 February; Wed 7 March; Wed 4 April; Wed 2 May; Wed 6 June; Wed 4 July; Wed 1 August; Wed 5 September; Wed 3 October; Wed 7 November; Wed 5 December.

monthly pub meet

Tour of the Tooting Granada

A London Historians Event

Tue 5 October 15.50 – 17.30h
The Gala Bingo Club, Tooting.

‘Miss the Tower of London if you have to, but don’t miss this’, ~ Ian Nairn.

Exclusive guided tour. Very special, this.

More information and to book.

History in the Pub: Londoners from Afar.

A London Historians Event

Tues 16 October, 2018. Doors 18.30h. Ends c21.00h.
Sir Christopher Hatton, Holborn.

Learn some history and make new friends in the pub after work! Eight historians will talk for eight minutes each on a significant Londoner who arrived here from afar. e.g. Dr Johnson. In addition, speed-quiz and prize draw, open mic. etc. Your MC and quizmaster: Matt Brown

More info and to book

Behind the Scenes at HMP Wandsworth

A London Historians Event
Sunday 21 October. 12:00h – 14:00h*

A guided tour of historic Wandsworth Prison (1851) and the prison’s private museum led by the facility’s historian Stewart Mclauglin, a serving prison officer and London Historians Member. For security reasons, only 10 places. All attendees 18 or over. London Historians Members only.

  • end time is approximate.

Book your place.

After Aphra: The Story of Aphra Behn and “The Widow Ranter”

A London Historians Event

Tue 23 October. 7-30 – 9.30pm
Watermen’s Hall, City of London.

Aphra Behn (1640 – 1689) was celebrated in her day as a fashionable playwright and poet having started life as the daughter of a Canterbury barber and gone on to a spell as a spy – after her untimely death in 1690 she was given the rare honour of burial in Westminster Abbey, and her plays went on being popular with theatre audiences for many years. The evening’s entertainment is set in the aftermath of Behn’s death and the catastrophic production of “The Widow Ranter”, and features storytelling and music as well as scenes from the play.

Produced by Clio’s Company.

More information and to book.

Free and Affordable Lectures

Several institutions host wonderful history lectures which are either free or cost very little.
The National Archives, a short walk from Kew Gardens Station, have free talks on most Thursday afternoons. They also have other low cost ticket events. Detail
The venerable Gresham College holds free lectures at its HQ in Barnards Inn, Holborn and also at Museum of London. Details.
Guildhall Library has free lunchtime lectures and £5 evening ones, which include a glass of wine. Details