London Historians' Monthly Pub Meet

A London Historians Event

We are now conducting these online via Zoom on the dates below and also other ad-hoc sessions. Join instructions via Members’ newsletter and also on social media.

We have an informal gathering of socialising on the first Wednesday of every month. From 6:30 pm. All are welcome.

Currently and until further notice we are using upstairs at the Hand and Shears, 1 Middle Street, Cloth Fair EC1A 7JA. This historic pub was awarded Grade 1 listed status in February 2020, one of only two London pubs thus listed.

We have about 30 attendees most months and you can come as early or late as you like, we’re always still there at Last Orders. All welcome, not just LH members.

Meetings for all of 2020 are as follows: Wed 8 January; Wed 5 February; Wed 4 March; Wed 1 April; Wed 6 May;* Wed 3 June*; Wed 1 July; Wed 5 August; Wed 2 September; Wed 7 October; Wed 4 November; Wed 2 December.

Free and Affordable Lectures

Several institutions host wonderful history lectures which are either free or cost very little.
The venerable Gresham College holds free lectures at its HQ in Barnards Inn, Holborn and also at Museum of London. Details.
Guildhall Library has free lunchtime lectures and £5 evening ones, which include a glass of wine. Details