London Historians' Monthly Pub Meet

A London Historians Event

We have an informal gathering of socialising on the first Wednesday of every month. From 6:30 pm. All are welcome.

Usually we use upstairs at the Hand and Shears, 1 Middle Street, Cloth Fair EC1A 7JA. This historic pub was awarded Grade 1 listed status in February 2020, one of only two London pubs thus listed.

HOWEVER Since Covid we have been continuing pub meet-ups, but via Zoom. We advise Zoom log-in details via members’ monthly newsletter.

We have about 30 attendees most months and you can come as early or late as you like, we’re always still there at Last Orders. All welcome, not just LH members.

Meetings for all of 2021 are as follows: Wed 6 January; Wed 3 February; Wed 3 March; Wed 7 April; Wed 5 May; Wed 2 June; Wed 7 July; Wed 4 August; Wed 1 September; Wed 6 October; Wed 3 November; Wed 1 December.

The Many Londons of Aphra Behn

A London Historians Event

Online Talk via Zoom
Wed 14th April 2021. 7pm.

Speaker: Lissa Chapman.
London Historians Monthly Lecture for April 2021.
We examine the life in London of the ground-breaking woman writer during the Commonwealth, the Restoration, before and after the Fire. Behn was a pioneering female playwright and novelist as well as working in espionage.

London Historians members just £2.50. Others: £5.00 Fees apply.

Book your place here.

70 Years On: Celebrating the Festival of Britain

A London Historians Event

Online Talk via Zoom
Thur 13th May 2021. 7pm.

Speaker: Elain Harwood
London Historians Monthly Lecture for May 2021.
We commemorate the 70th anniversary of the Festival of Britain which took place in the summer of 1951 and itself was conceived as a commemoration of the Great Exhibition of 1851.

London Historians Members: £3.00. non-Members £5.00. Fees apply.

More information and to book your place.

Free and Affordable Lectures

Several institutions host wonderful history lectures which are either free or cost very little.
The venerable Gresham College holds free lectures at its HQ in Barnards Inn, Holborn and also at Museum of London. Details.
Guildhall Library has free lunchtime lectures and £5 evening ones, which include a glass of wine. Details