London Historians

London Historians' Monthly Pub Meet

A London Historians Event

We have an informal gathering of socialising on the first Wednesday of every month. From 6:30 pm. All are welcome.

We meet upstairs at the Hoop and Grapes, in Farringdon.
We have about 30 attendees most months and you can come as early or late as you like, we’re always still there at Last Orders. All welcome, not just LH members.
Meetings for all of 2019 are as follows: Wed 2 January; Wed 6 February; Wed 6 March; Wed 3 April; Wed 1 May; Wed 5 June; Wed 3 July; Wed 7 August; Wed 4 September; Wed 2 October; Wed 6 November; Wed 4 December.

monthly pub meet

Stephens House and Gardens

SORRY, THIS EVENT IS FULLY BOOKED
A London Historians Event

28 January, 14.00 – 15.30h
17 East End Road, Finchley

Beyond the Ink Blot
Discover the home and life of the ink magnate Henry “Inky” Stephens with a tour of the downstairs rooms and Tower Room of Avenue House, a stroll around the grounds and a private view of the Stephens collection
Please Note there are 3 flights of stairs on the tour.
Tea and biscuits included!
More on Stephens House & Gardens.

Commemorating London: The Best and Worst

The London Society and London Historians present.
Debate
Tue 26 February. 18:30 – 21:00
Sir Christopher Hatton pub, 4 Leather Lane, EC1N 7RA

Join us in the pub to discuss the London sculptures that should never have been erected – and the commemorations that are long overdue.The London Society and ourselves have been running a poll to find the public artwork that is the capital’s least popular, and the ‘winner’ will be announced this evening.
Tickets: £10. LH and LonSoc Members: £5.
More information and to book.

Free and Affordable Lectures

Several institutions host wonderful history lectures which are either free or cost very little.
The National Archives, a short walk from Kew Gardens Station, have free talks on most Thursday afternoons. They also have other low cost ticket events. Detail
The venerable Gresham College holds free lectures at its HQ in Barnards Inn, Holborn and also at Museum of London. Details.
Guildhall Library has free lunchtime lectures and £5 evening ones, which include a glass of wine. Details