London Historians' Monthly Pub Meet

A London Historians Event

We have an informal gathering of socialising at the beginning of every month. From 6:30 pm. We have up to 30 attendees most months and you can come as early or late as you like, we’re always still there at Last Orders. All welcome, not just LH members.

IMPORTANT NOTICE

For 2023 we will no longer be using the Hand and Shears. The pub we’ll now be using is the excellent Wheatsheaf at 25 Rathbone Place, Fitzrovia, W1T 1JB. It’s just five mins walk from Tottenham Court Road Station (Central, Elizabeth, Northern).

Also, for at least the remainder of 2023 we will be meeting on first Tuesday of the month, rather than first Wednesday.

On the following dates:
Meetings for all of 2023 are as follows: Tue 4 January; Tue 7 February; Tue 7 March; Tue 4 April; Tue 2 May; Tue 6 June; Tue 4 July; Tue 1 August; Tue 5 September; Tue 3 October; Tue 7 November; Tue 5 December.

Historic Hanwell

A London Historians Event

Saturday 11 February, 2 – 4 pm.
Start and finish at Hanwell Station.

A three mile walk with London guide Rob Smith. You’ll get a close up look at Wharncliffe Viaduct, the longest flight of canal locks in London and another ingenious Brunel scheme to get a railway over the Grand Union Canal. You’ll see some of the buildings from the First Middlesex County Asylum and find out what it was like for patients and staff in the hospital during the Victorian period. All this and a George Gilbert Scott church too.
£12.50 plus fee. LH Members only.
More information and to book.

Free and Affordable Lectures

Several institutions host wonderful history lectures which are either free or cost very little.
The venerable Gresham College holds free lectures at its HQ in Barnards Inn, Holborn and also at Museum of London. Details.
Guildhall Library has free lunchtime lectures and £5 evening ones, which include a glass of wine. Details