London Historians' Monthly Pub Meet

A London Historians Event

We have an informal gathering of socialising at the beginning of every month. From 6:30 pm. We have up to 30 attendees most months and you can come as early or late as you like, we’re always still there at Last Orders. All welcome, not just LH members.

The pub we use is the excellent Wheatsheaf at 25 Rathbone Place, Fitzrovia, W1T 1JB. It’s just five mins walk from Tottenham Court Road Station (Central, Elizabeth, Northern).

We meet on first Tuesday of the month, no longer first Wednesday as previous years.

On the following dates:
Meetings for all of 2024 are as follows: Tue 2 January; Tue 6 February; Tue 5 March; Tue 2 April; Tue 7 May; Tue 4 June; Tue 2 July; Tue 6 August; Tue 3 September; Tue 1 October; Tue 5 November; Tue 3 December.

Boston Manor to Northfields

A London Historians Event

Tues 5 March 12.00h – 14.30h
Boston Manor House

Historic walking tour. The area between these two adjacent stations on the Piccadilly Line contains many surprises. After a half-hour look around newly restored Boston Manor House, we will begin our walk and visit, inter alia, a park named after the world’s most famous funambulist; a classical building where a member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame went to school; the former home of an early US president; a 1930s ‘palace of entertainment’ built in a Spanish-Moorish style; and a 17th century house which had many famous, and in some cases infamous, residents.

More info and to book.

The London Historians Big Quiz 2024

A London Historians Event

Wed 15 May. 18:30 – 21:00
The Sir Christopher Hatton, Leather Lane.

The London Historians annual quiz!
If you know your Westminster Abbey from your Westminster Cathedral, this is the night out for you to pit your knowledge against your fellow London history nuts.

  • Challenging but far from impossible.
  • Compiled and presented by London’s #1 quizmaster, Matt Brown.
  • Team Format.
  • Fab Prizes.

More info and to enter, here.

Free and Affordable Lectures

Several institutions host wonderful history lectures which are either free or cost very little.
The venerable Gresham College holds free lectures at its HQ in Barnards Inn, Holborn and also at Museum of London. Details.
Guildhall Library has free lunchtime lectures and £5 evening ones, which include a glass of wine. Details