London Historians' Monthly Pub Meet

A London Historians Event

We have an informal gathering of socialising on the first Wednesday* of every month. From 6:30 pm. All are welcome.

  • except Thurs 8 July.

PLEASE NOTE
Thurs 8 July we shall be returning to the Hand and Shears proper for the first time since March 2020. Upstairs will be set up in line with Covid rulings to a maximum of 30 persons. Therefore for the first – and hopefully only – time, we shall be taking bookings – for free – via Eventbrite, here

It is essential you do this, please.

Usually we use upstairs at the Hand and Shears, 1 Middle Street, Cloth Fair EC1A 7JA. This historic pub was awarded Grade 1 listed status in February 2020, one of only two London pubs thus listed.

We have about 30 attendees most months and you can come as early or late as you like, we’re always still there at Last Orders. All welcome, not just LH members.

Meetings for all of 2021 are as follows: Wed 6 January; Wed 3 February; Wed 3 March; Wed 7 April; Wed 5 May; Wed 2 June; Thur 8 July; Wed 4 August; Wed 1 September; Wed 6 October; Wed 3 November; Wed 1 December.

Towards a World City :London in the 18C

A London Historians Event

Online Talk
Wed 11 August, 7 – 8 pm. Online via Zoom.

Presented by Prof Jeremy Black.
Jeremy will look at the key themes of London’s role as a dynamic expanding city in Britain ‘s growing eightheenth century empire with particular focus on political dimensions
Approximately 45 mins followed by Q&A.
LH Members. £3. Non Members £4.50 (both + fees).
More info and to book your place.

Hitting the Heights: The History of Crystal Palace

Guided Tour
Friday 27 August, 11am – 1pm
Crystal Palace station

Tour guide, Crystal Palace local and London Historian, Richard Watkins’ tour, Hitting the Heights, takes you through the development of the area and the dramatic stories of some great writers, actors and artists who came to make the area their home.

More information and to book your place.

Free and Affordable Lectures

Several institutions host wonderful history lectures which are either free or cost very little.
The venerable Gresham College holds free lectures at its HQ in Barnards Inn, Holborn and also at Museum of London. Details.
Guildhall Library has free lunchtime lectures and £5 evening ones, which include a glass of wine. Details