London Historians' Monthly Pub Meet

A London Historians Event

We have an informal gathering of socialising on the first Wednesday of every month. From 6:30 pm. All are welcome.

Usually we use upstairs at the Hand and Shears, 1 Middle Street, Cloth Fair EC1A 7JA. This historic pub was awarded Grade 1 listed status in February 2020, one of only two London pubs thus listed.

HOWEVER Since Covid we have been continuing pub meet-ups, but via Zoom. We advise Zoom log-in details via members’ monthly newsletter.

We have about 30 attendees most months and you can come as early or late as you like, we’re always still there at Last Orders. All welcome, not just LH members.

Meetings for all of 2021 are as follows: Wed 6 January; Wed 3 February; Wed 3 March; Wed 7 April; Wed 5 May; Wed 2 June; Wed 7 July; Wed 4 August; Wed 1 September; Wed 6 October; Wed 3 November; Wed 1 December.

The South Sea Bubble

A London Historians Event

London Historians’ Monthly Lecture, via Zoom.
Wed 10 March 2021 7pm to 8.30pm
presented by Tim Kidd, City of London Guide and veteran of London’s finance sector. Following the 300th anniversary last year of the financial catastrophe that enriched some but ruined most, from all levels of society, we examine precisely what happened.

For more information and to book.

Online History in the Pub: Eight Londoners

A London Historians Event

Wed 31 March, 18.30 – 20.30h
Zoom meeting

Eight speakers for eight minutes each on a Londoner of Note. Subjects include: Lillian Board; Chris Moncrieff; Rosa Lewis; Joshua Ward; Naomi Blake.

LH Members free. Non-members £3.
More information and please book your place here.

Free and Affordable Lectures

Several institutions host wonderful history lectures which are either free or cost very little.
The venerable Gresham College holds free lectures at its HQ in Barnards Inn, Holborn and also at Museum of London. Details.
Guildhall Library has free lunchtime lectures and £5 evening ones, which include a glass of wine. Details