Twenty-nine Leading Historians Oppose AV

Twenty-nine of Britain’s leading historians have signed a letter which appeared in the Times today, urging Britain to vote NO to AV on May 5th. The group, which includes many of Britain’s most respected historians, such as Antony Beevor, Niall Ferguson, Orlando Figes, Amanda Foreman, Simon Sebag Montefiore, Andrew Roberts, and David Starkey, have come together to voice their serious concerns about AV.

“For the first time since 1928 and the granting of universal suffrage, we face the possibility that one person’s casting ballot will be given greater weight than another”, they write in the letter. The missive was organised by Conservative MP, Chris Skidmore

Read the full letter here.

— 12 March 2011